Robin Hood Golf Club

Hall of Fame

Honours and Competitions won by Individual Members and the Club

During its history the Club has had a number of fine players who have had the honour of playing for the County in representative matches; in 1947 D. M. G. Sutherland achieved the great distinction of playing for his Country and in 1955 G. R. Maisey also played for his Country as a Boy International as did O. J. West in 2001.

Warwickshire County President

2018 - 2019 G Barton

1990-1992    C Dixon

Warwickshire County Captain

1938       T R Groom

     1954       D M G Sutherland

Warwickshire Senior Captain

2011       G W Barton

 2012       G W Barton

Captain of Warwickshire Past Captains

    1989       NF Butler

       2011      J C Loynton

Warwickshire Amateur Championship

       1950       W L Smart

    1953       E Walton

          1964       G W Barton

    2013      J Carney

Richards Salver

Best amateur aggregate score in the Warwickshire Amateur and Open Championship

    1964       G W Barton

Warwickshire Colts’ Championship

1964 G W Barton
1969 G W Barton
1971 G W Barton (R/U) 

Warwickshire Boys’ Champions

1955 G R Maisey
1962 G W Barton (R/U)
1963 G W Barton
1964 G W Barton
1967 L A J Shiels
1998 S J Belche r
2001 O J West

Warwickshire Schools Champion

1996       A M Billingham

2000       O J West

Warwickshire Boys’ Captain

1996       A J Barton

   Warwickshire U14 Captain

 2016       H Kentish

Midland Boys’ Champion

   2001       O J West

England Schools International

    2001       O J West

Warwickshire Challenge Cup

Best nett in Amateur Championship

 1964       G W Barton

Carris Trophy

1956       G R Maisey

 1957       G R Maisey

British Open Amateur Championship

  1980       H D Moseley (after a tie)

Warwickshire Senior Championship Strokeplay

1979 H D Moseley
1981 H D Moseley
1982 H D Moseley
2011 A B Holliday

Warwickshire Senior Championship Matchplay

2013 winner GW Barton - Losing finalist AB Holliday

           Finney Shield

Midland Amateur Scratch Foursomes

       2012           B S Staniforth and T Coulson

N Heard Salver - British Par 3 Championship

2014 L Turbutt

Bainbridge Shield

County Foursomes Knockout Tournament

1920 H Spencer and F E Plater
1921 H Spencer and F E Plater (R/U)
1922 H Spencer and F E Plater
1947 D M G Sutherland and C V Hill
1947 R H Clarkson and W L Smart (R/U)
1950 R H Clarkson and C V Hill
1954 D M Sutherland and E Walton
1955 D M Sutherland and E Walton
1956 D M Sutherland and E Walton
1973 G W Barton and A B Holliday
1989 G W Barton and B Worsley


G H Hewitt and M Watkins

2014 G Skipp and L Burgess

Warwickshire Union of Golf Clubs Team Challenge Shield

1946 G Burnside, C V Hill, R H Clarkson, W L Smart
1947 D M G Sutherland, C V Hill, R H Clarkson, W L Smart
1948 D M G Sutherland, F Webb, R H Clarkson, W L Smart
1950 D M G Sutherland, C V Hill, F R Webb, W L Smart
1953 D M G Sutherland, C Dixon, E. Walton, W L Smart
1956 D M G Sutherland, G R Maisey, E Walton, W L Smart
1970 G W Barton, E J Sercombe, H D Moseley

T. P. Cooke C up

County Match Play Trophy competed for by leading eight competitors in the Warwickshire Union Challenge Shield

1946 G Burnside
1950 R H Clarkson
1951 D M G Sutherland
1952 W L Smart
1955 D M G. Sutherland
1961 P J Brookes
1970 GW Barton
1971 G W Barton


                Midland Scratch League Championship

Robin Hood was one of the Founder Clubs in 1975

Winners               1975(Div 1)       1977(Div 1)      1978(Div 1)       1980(Div 1)       1999 (Div 3)     2013 (Div 5)

West Midlands Inter-Club Golf League Trophy

Team event


Dr J E Kerton (Club Captain – Non Playing), P J Brookes, H G Lunn, P M Turner, W T Shiels, A J Dixon, E J Kyte, A J F Lisle, K H Ellson


 J C Loynton (Captain), R J Jefferies, L E Conkey, G R Bower, D J Cope, G W Barton, R Lee, A B Holliday


West Midlands Inter-Club Golf League – Davenport Salver

Winners               1972       1992       1996

Warwickshire Ladies Champion

1960 Mrs M F Roles
1966  Mrs M F Roles 
1970 Mrs M F Roles (R/U)
1976  Mrs M F Roles
1984  Mrs M F Roles


Captain of Warwickshire Ladies

1960                       Mrs M F Roles

1961                       Mrs M F Roles

Captain of Warwickshire Girls

    1996                      Miss L C Houston

2016                      Miss E G Leech

Midland Ladies Champion

1968                       Mrs M F Roles

Warwickshire Veteran Ladies Golf Association

Captain 2006                 Mrs S C Bevins

President 2011-2015    Mrs S C Bevins

Warwickshire Ladies Inter-Club Team Championship

Handicap event

1966 Mrs M Smallwood, Mrs H Horrocks, Mrs W Gillott

Mrs M F Roles, Mrs W E Lilley, Mrs R D Icke,  Mrs C S Wyse, Mrs J Guy, Mrs P Sharpe


Warwickshire Ladies Inter-Club Foursomes

Handicap Event

1964 Mrs M Smallwood, Mrs H Thorne
1967  Mrs H Horrocks, Mrs W Gillott



Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.